DIY Tudor fashions

Does anyone else ever watch The Tudors and think, “I could totally pull off that look.” ? I for one, love wandering around the grocery store in my best corset and fur-trimmed kilt.

But the cost can really be prohibitive, so I have come up with a solution to get a Tudors Look for less.

The Doily Collar How-to

Grandmas everywhere will mourn the loss of their table accessories

Everything looks better through an intricate doily pattern.

If I had a gold shilling for every time I’ve thought to myself, you know what would really tie this outfit together… a collar made from something I found on my Grandma’s dining room table.

Step one: Visit Grandma.

Step two: When she leaves the room to get you a fresca refill you steal one of the 700 doilies arranged on the dining room table.

Step three: Continue the “Why won’t your floozy of a cousin learn that no man will buy the cow if he can get the milk for free.” conversation.

Step four: Go home and let the doily collar construction begin.

Doilies are the new black.

Doilies are the new black.

From this point, all you really need to do is cut doily in half and proceed to staple to the inside of any of your favorite tops.

This will create a very stylish popped collar but in a less “Yo brah, I just totally wailed on my pecs” and a more “my lord, how doth thou pecs wail? Shalt thou poppeth thyne collar-eth now?” way.

9 Comments

  1. Dale Fitzgerald
    Posted April 7, 2009 at 3:03 pm | Permalink

    Now if only someone could teach a troop of Minstrels “Now eva since i can remember I’ve been poppin’ my collar”

  2. LipToupee
    Posted April 7, 2009 at 3:08 pm | Permalink

    Doily collars really complete the ensemble when I go out on the town with my scepter in hand and servants carrying my train. Now the commoners will recognize.

  3. DLevs
    Posted April 7, 2009 at 5:28 pm | Permalink

    This is a really funny post…except for the fact that I’ve been making clothing out of Doilies for a good 15 years now…I’m actually wearing a pair of doily underpants as I write this comment…that being said The Tudors stole my idea!

  4. Felicia Orton
    Posted April 7, 2009 at 10:31 pm | Permalink

    Nice to see that Doilies aren’t just for ugly maternity dresses any more…”The new black” hahaha, very funny!

  5. Meemaw Bois
    Posted April 8, 2009 at 2:54 am | Permalink

    If I was your grandma, I’d be really upset right now. Also, as a non-caucasian Doily, I am offended by this post. Also, you are hilarious.

  6. Rooster Cogburn
    Posted April 8, 2009 at 4:36 pm | Permalink

    Thanks for giving mother yet another tool for the embarrassment that has turned out to be my existence. I still haven’t lived down the paper mache dock shoes she made me for sailing camp.

  7. Posted April 14, 2009 at 3:07 am | Permalink

    Great jewelry and make-up! But not good enough to disguise the actress is a totally different person thyan the Jane Seymour he originally fell in lust with.

    anyone?

  8. wanda
    Posted April 14, 2009 at 3:54 pm | Permalink

    I noticed that as well. Dont worry…she wont be around that long!

  9. Posted May 20, 2009 at 10:40 pm | Permalink

    Wonderful information.. I will definitely come back again soon:D


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

